Judge Ian Gray leads the Post Sentence Authority’s oversight of the post sentence scheme.

Prior to his appointment Judge Gray served as a County Court Judge and State Coroner for Victoria. In this role he oversaw significant changes to the structure and operations of the Coroner’s Court and presided over a number of high profile inquests and inquiries, including those into the death of Luke Batty, Carl Williams, Jill Meagher, Sarah Cafferkey and Sharon Siermans.

From 2001-2012, Judge Gray served as Chief Magistrate in Victoria where he played an instrumental role in the implementation of a number of major reforms to the Magistrates’ Court. These reforms included the establishment of the Drug, Family Violence and Koori Courts.

Judge Gray has had a legal career spanning over 40 years, and brings a wealth of knowledge, experience and expertise to the role of Chair.


Michele Williams QC is the Deputy Chair of the Post Sentence Authority. 

Ms Williams has over thirty years’ experience as a barrister and was one of Victoria’s first female Crown prosecutors.

Ms Williams was responsible for prosecuting some of the state’s most serious sexual and violent offenders, and she retired as one of the most experienced Senior Crown Prosecutors in November 2016. She brings extensive experience in criminal law, and a unique understanding about the behaviour of serious offenders, to the Post Sentence Authority.